Brighton Specialists


16 August 2018




At our last 3-Day August Festival Roy Rocket once again showed his passion for Brighton when gaining a record ninth course win. Cheered on by his ever growing number of followers, he bravely fought off the opposition in very blustery conditions on ground softer than he truly appreciates.

John Berry’s grey now joins Shikari’s Son at the top of our course specialist leader board and is expected to return soon to attempt an historic tenth success!



Megalala (John Bridger trained) is an eight times winner.

Following his Brighton Bullet success this month Pour La Victoire (Tony Carroll) joins Mandhooma (Peter Hiatt) and sixties legend Operatic Society (John Benstead) on the seven winner mark.


Amongst many six times winners are track favourites:-

Belper, Penang Cinta, Mutabassir, Multahab, Willie Conquer, Landucci, Lady Florence and Good Luck Charm, a winner here earlier this month.


Five times course winners include:-

Alpen Wolf, Green Dollar, Barbason, Hooray Lady, Beacon Lady, Theocritus, Ocean Countess, Olney Lass, Jazzy Millennium, Choreography, Magical Speedfit, Swynford Welcome, Pick A Little, Live Dangerously and Black Caesar.


There are many four times Brighton winners including:-

Mister Clinton, Needwood Mystic, Sno Serenade, Norfolk Flight, Factual Lad, Unveiled, Apollo Red, Madrasee, Hard To Catch, Ivory Lace, Prince Valentine, Flying Spirit, Jayanjay, Croeso Croeso, Stonecrabstomorrow, Perfect Treasure, Green Earth, A Woman In Love, Bloodsweatandtears, Green Earth, Ailincala, Perfect Pastime, Fairy Mist, Port Lairge, Hawk Moth, Whitecrest, Welsh Inlet and Ginzan.   


                               WINNING RECORD OF THE TOP THREE HORSES:-

SHIKARI’S SON: 9 wins from 16 starts at Brighton.

Trainer John White was also to land the ‘95 Stewards Cup at Goodwood with him.

6 April 1995         won 6f    ridden by Richard Hughes

4 August 1994    won 5f    Richard Quinn    (Brighton Sprint Handicap)

13 June 1994      won 1m   Richard Quinn   (Brighton Mile Trophy)

19 April 1993       won 7f    Richard Quinn

6 August 1992    won 6f    Richard Quinn     (Brighton Sprint Handicap)

23 July 1992        won 6f    Richard Quinn

2 July 1992           won 6f    Philip Robinson

23 June 1992      won 6f   George Duffield

31 May 1990       won 5f   Ray Cochrane


ROY ROCKET: 9 wins from 23 starts at Brighton

Expected to run at Epsom next Monday before coming back here six days later.

10 August 2018 won 12f Rob Hornby 

3 July 2018           won 10f John Egan

26 June 2018      won 12f amateur Mr. Ross Birkett

25 April 2017       won 10f John Egan

28 June 2016      won 12f John Egan

21 June 2016      won 12f amateur Mr. Ross Birkett

10 June 2015      won 12f John Egan

28 April 2015       won 12f John Egan

21 April 2015       won 10f John Egan


MEGALALA: 8 wins from 38 starts at Brighton

Now 17 years old and in honorable retirement with his trainer John Bridger.

6 October 2015  won 12f Chris Meehan

6 May 2014         won 10f Cam Hardie

24 April 2014       won 10f William Carson

4 August 2011    won 10f amateur Miss Serena Brotherton

21 June 2011      won 12f Neil Chalmers

14 July 2009        won 10f Neil Chalmers

27 May 2009       won 12f Neil Chalmers

25 Sept 2009       won 7f   Marc Halford   



Jason Watson (12 winners), Shane Kelly (9), Hector Crouch (6), Luke Morris (6).


Richard Hannon (8 winners), Richard Hughes (7), Tony Carroll (6), John Gallagher (4).

Brighton Racecourse

Racecourse logo

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news, events and special offers direct to your inbox.